Festival Jury

John Canemaker

Academy Award® winning animator (The Moon and the Son)

Sofia Coppola

Academy Award®-winning writer, director and producer (Lost In Translation, Somewhere, Marie Antoinette)

photograph courtesy of Dick Page & James Gibbs

Geena Davis

Academy Award® winning actor and Founder, Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media

Lynne McVeigh

Associate Professor of Children’s Media at NYU Tisch School of the Arts

Matthew Modine

Award winning actor (Full Metal JacketThe Dark Knight Rises)

Richard Peña

Director Emeritus New York Film Festival, Columbia University Professor of Film Studies

James Schamus

Award winning filmmaker (Brokeback MountainThe Ice Storm)

Uma Thurman

Academy Award® nominated actor (Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill, vol. 1 & 2)

Christine Vachon

Award winning filmmaker (Boys Don’t CryCarol)

Gus Van Sant

Award winning director (Good Will HuntingMilk)

Taika Waititi

Academy Award® nominated writer/director (Two Cars One NightWhat We Do in the Shadows)

Jeffrey Wright

Award winning actor (BasquiatThe Hunger Games)

Nadine Zylstra

Head of Family and Learning, YouTube Originals

As an Oscar® qualifying Festival, winners of our juried prizes are eligible for Academy consideration in the Best Live Action and Best Animated Short Film categories. For more information, please click here.